Australia Day Awards

Awards are an integral part of Australia Day, they aim to recognise outstanding achievement during the past year and/or contribution to the local community over a number of years.

These unique individuals have given their time freely for numerous organisations throughout the LGA and are always the first to offer support and assistance to the members of the community. 

Australia Day celebrations which are held on 26 January each year are an opportunity to recognise our community achievements, and to enjoy the artistic talents of residents, welcome our new citizens and to meet our Australia Day Ambassador.

2018 Australia Day Community Awards

The 2018 Awards were presented at a ceremony at the Morgo Street Reserve, Urunga.  The following awards were presented by Mayor, Cr Dominic King and Australia Day Ambassador David Bitton. 

  • Citizen of the Year - Anne Phelan
  • Young Citizen of the Year - Katelyn Beaumont
  • Sportsperson of the Year - Kathleen McPhail
  • Junior Sportsperson of the Year - Katie Thorn
  • Community Service - Debbie Rose
  • Community Group - The Community Transport Company
  • Community Event - Dorrigo & Guy Fawkes Agricultural Show

Australia Day provides an opportunity for all of us to celebrate our wonderful country and recognise and thank those people who give so much to our local communities as well as acknowledging sporting and other outstanding community and creative achievements.

Give some thought to a community member or community organisation that you believe should receive recognition for their voluntary work and achievements.

Honour Roll

To remember these special people we have compiled a Bellingen Shire Australia Day Awards Honour Roll. 

Australia Day Awards Honour Roll 1984-2017