Speed Limits on Rural Roads

The 3 types of speed limits used in NSW are:

  1. Default speed limits

  2. Signposted speed limits

  3. Speed limits based on vehicle and licence class

Signposted speed limits override the default speed limit that would otherwise apply, but not special speed limits that apply to certain classes of vehicles and licences.

The default speed limit on Urban Roads within the Bellingen Shire is 50km unless signposted otherwise.  

Motorists should travel on rural roads at a speed conducive to the prevailing road conditions, up to the State default speed limit of 100kph.